Upcoming Events and Announcements:

WebsiteCALENDAR LinkGraphics2.png
001 (1).jpg

Coronavirus (Covid-19): FAQ & CSM Response: In response to concerns surrounding the coronavirus (COVID-19), we want to let you know how CSM is responding. We are monitoring the situation as it evolves, we have created an F.A.Q. and Updates page to serve as a central place for you to receive answers to commonly asked questions. We are committed to doing everything we can to provide a safe environment for all our students, families and staff while keeping music making alive through this challenging season. As we all work through any potential disruptions to our normal life and activities let us not forget the comforting power and strength we get through making music! Updates will be posted here if the situation evolves.


Click HERE to visit our Coronavirus FAQ & UPDATES page.


CSM SPRING BREAK IS 4/5-4/12: CSM's Spring Break is April 5-April 12! NO regularly scheduled online lessons will take place, however, makeup and bonus lesson opportunities are available!

As everyone is sheltering-in-place during this epidemic, we wanted to provide all our students the opportunity to take makeup and extra online lessons during Spring Break. CSM will be open for online MAKEUP and EXTRA lessons only over Spring Break, Monday 4/6- Saturday 4/11. Once again, regularly scheduled lesson schedules will not be in effect during Spring Break, however, this is a great time to schedule makeup lessons or additional bonus lessons and for PARENTS to dust off that old instrument at home and set up some lessons for themselves!

Most of our full-time staff will not be working, however, we're encouraging our students (from any teacher) to consider scheduling a makeup/bonus lesson during Spring Break with one of our incredible CSM subcontractors! Most of our subcontractor teachers are full-time professional gigging musicians and many face a challenging season with performance cancellations and ensemble furloughs. This is an opportunity to support our amazing subcontractor teacher/performers at a time when they most need it! Visit: 
to learn more about our amazing staff.


To schedule a MAKEUP lesson and/or EXTRA or PARENT lesson during Spring Break week, please contact Mr. Matt at: studiomanager@thecatoctinschoolofmusic.com


Online Learning NOW AVAILABLE via Zoom! We are excited to announce that we are offering students the ability to do online video lessons with our instructors via Zoom! Online learning allows us to continue the learning process remotely, especially in light of our current circumstances. If you are unable to attend lessons on-site at CSM due to illness, social distancing or closure, we are still able to provide students with the opportunity to meet for lessons online via video conferencing lessons! One of the easiest and best services we’ve found at this time is “Zoom”. Zoom is a web-conferencing app that allows us to conduct live video lessons with minimal setup, at the click of a button! All you need is a internet-connected laptop, tablet or phone with microphone and camera. Your teacher will email a "Zoom" link to click to join a lesson live at your lesson time. Click on the link and Zoom will automatically prompt you with instructions to join a live video lesson! Think of Zoom like an online video phone call. It’s easy to get started. If you're interested in video lessons, please contact your instructor directly to schedule a music lesson via Zoom! Also, check out the following links below for more info. and Zoom Tips/Tricks!

Zoom Homepage Link:    www.zoom.us 

CSM Parents & Students Zoom Tips:  Zoom Tips

Zoom "Tips & Tricks" Link:    Zoom Tips & Tricks


CSM 2020 Spring Recitals REGISTRATION OPEN!Our 2020 CSM Spring Recital dates have been announced and recital registration is NOW OPEN! We are switching to an "Online Virtual Recital" format in response to the ongoing epidemic. Students will still be able to perform, virtually this year! CSM Students may CLICK HERE to visit our "Recitals Page" to register for specific recital dates & times. Registration extended to Friday, April 10 at noon!

Check out our official CSM Events Calendar to sync your personal Outlook, iCal or Google Calendar with the latest updates! 

Please note: There are two different recital locations this year! Please double-check your recital location for your recital date!


COMMUNITY NEWS: LCPS School Nutrition Service Expansion  [LCPS, 3/14/20, 10:43 AM] 

"As we announced yesterday, Loudoun County School Nutrition Services (SNS) is expanding and extending free meal service in our school communities from March 16 to March 20 and March 23 to March 27 at schools and other designated locations. Please note, there will be no weekend service.


As a reminder, school-based meal service will be provided from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Meals will be available at each school and students will be allowed to receive two meals daily (a breakfast and a lunch) and can choose to take both meals simultaneously. Students can receive the meals at the school of their choice, not just at the school they attend.

LCPS is also using our school bus fleet to increase the availability of meal service to students that rely on schools for meal support. Delivery of meals to locations such as community centers and churches throughout the county will begin Monday, March 16, 2020. 

Maps ( https://bit.ly/2xDEMTa ) indicating the locations and scheduled times of “meal stops” are now posted on the LCPS.orgwebsite ( https://bit.ly/2xDEMTa ).

Please arrive at the meal stops early to ensure buses can remain on schedule."


2020 All-Virginia Music Ensemble Results! Congratulations to all our musicians who auditioned and placed in the 2020 VMEA/VBODA/VCDA All-Virginia Guitar Ensemble, All-Virginia Concert Band, All-Virginia Chorus and All-Virginia Orchestra! A big congrats to our amazing instructors and parents for all the support and care they pour into their students! Results are listed below and updated as we receive placement results from our students:

From the studio of Mr. Jamey Mann (Guitar Instructor):
Allison Ko, 11th Grade, CONCERTMASTER, All-Virginia Guitar Ensemble;
Justin Ko, 9th Grade,  All-Virginia Guitar Ensemble

From the studio of Dr. JB Taylor (Guitar Instructor):
Caitlin Robinson, 11th Grade, All-Virginia Guitar Ensemble
Ava Hearne, 9th Grade, All-Virginia Guitar Ensemble

From the studio of Ms. Lisa Fiorilli (Sax/Clarinet Instructor): 
Parker Peterson, 11th Grade- Alto Saxophone, 1st chair, All-Virginia Concert Band; 
Evan Bertoglio, 11th Grade - Tenor Saxophone, 1st Chair Alternate, All-Virginia Concert Band

From the studio of Mr. Nate Simpson (Low Brass Instructor): 
Ethan Van Berkel, 12th Grade - Tuba, 4th Chair, All-Virginia Concert Band

From the studio of Dr. Carla Deniz (Viola & Violin Instructor):
Katie Hicks, 11th Grade - Viola, 11th Chair, All-Virginia Orchestra


From the studio of Mrs. Jennene Estes (Voice Instructor/Owner):
Emily Gruessing, 8th Grade - Soprano I, All-Virginia MS Chorus

From the studio of Mrs. Alyssa Cowell (Voice Instructor):
Anna Osborne, 10th Grade - Alto, All-Virginia Chorus


CSM Lessons Gift Certificates Available!: Give a gift that will last a lifetime! Special Music Lessons gift certificates towards private or class music lessons at CSM are now available! The PERFECT way to spread cheer this season while investing in a loved one or friend's musical future!

As an added bonus, take advantage of our special limited-time holiday lessons promo offer for new students: sign-up for lessons and receive TWO FREE lessons! Email studiomanager@csminspires.com to get your customized CSM lessons gift-certificates today!


Check back later for more CSM and community updates!


Monday - Friday: 12PM - 8PM
Please Email our Studio Manager,
for an appointment.


  • CSM Facebook
  • CSM YouTube


The Catoctin School of Music
25 East First Street SE

Suite 1
Leesburg, VA 20175

Office: 571-306-1880